My Cart

Close

Free delivery with any purchase of $ 100 (QC and NB) and $ 150 in the other Canadian provinces. 

Savonnerie des Diligences

Savonnerie des Diligences - LE COCHER - Bewitching orange soap

$6.00

DILI-SAV-COCHER




Description

A soap that carries us in the pleasure of the senses. Its woody and sweet aromas give it a comforting side: a real tonic that is bewitching for the nervous system! Bitter orange is known for its calming properties while patchouli is an aphrodisiac: a happy blend! Turmeric gives the beautiful warm and golden colour for the pleasure of the eyes.

A 100% natural soap with olive oil

Size: 100g

Note from the soap maker : This emblematic recipe of the Savonnerie des Diligences carries the soap maker's print, symbol of the originality of his creation.

Ingredients : Oils (olive, organic coconut, beeswax), water, sodium hydroxide, essential oils of bitter orange and patchouli, turmeric.

Handmade in Quebec

The coachman. Follow the scent of this legend...

The story takes place in Eastman, or rather Dingman's Flat, the name of the village at the end of the 19th century, named after a rich English equestrian farm owned by John Dingman. Owner of several valuable thoroughbred horses, Mr. Dingman hired Édouard Petitpas as a groom. Petitpas worked hard from dawn to dusk and then slept in a modest shack near the stable. He liked to take care of these feisty beasts, but that didn't stop him from dreaming of becoming a coachman. From his earliest childhood, he saw himself elegantly dressed, driving an eight-horse stagecoach, admired by all to lead it diligently on the path of the Diligences.

One Thanksgiving Day, Mr. Dingman, who liked to wow the gallery, had a reception for his family and friends at the Silver Valley Hotel, and thought of inviting his faithful employee Edouard. The latter, though intimidated, gladly accepted the invitation. A sumptuous dinner awaited the guests, and Edward took the opportunity to taste everything. His preference was for fragrant, plump pieces of orange. As his modest condition did not allow him to afford them, he did not think it wrong to bring some back, claiming that these oranges had simply bewitched him.

At the stroke of midnight, when he had drunk a little too much, his dream of becoming a coachman resurfaced more than ever. "Come what may, it's a chance to hitch the farm's two most beautiful stallions to the owner's wagon!" Just as he was leaving the farm's main driveway, the two horses got carried away. Edward lost his balance and went to hit his head on a 100-year-old white pine trunk. He woke up in the infirmary and was severely scolded by Dingman... for stealing oranges!

The incident allowed Édouard to make his boss understand that he had justified ambitions for such a conscientious groom. A few years later, Édouard became the village coachman and was able to buy as many oranges as he wanted!

You won't find the Dingman Farm in Eastman, but a visit to the Écurie des Diligences, just across from the Savonnerie, will remind you of the history of the Coachman!

Author: Carol Laperrière
Reviewer: Venise Landry
Translator: Christopher Carrie
English

Mon panier

Fermer

Livraison gratuite avec tout achat de 100$ (QC et NB) et 150$ dans les autres provinces canadiennes. 

Savonnerie des Diligences

Savonnerie des Diligences • LE COCHER • Savon à l'orange envoûtante

$6.50

DILI-SAV-COCHER

 

 

 

 

Description

Un savon qui nous porte dans le plaisir des sens. Ses arômes boisés et sucrés lui confèrent un côté réconfortant et gourmand : un vrai tonique envoûtant pour le système nerveux! L’orange amère est reconnue pour ses propriétés calmantes tandis que le patchouli est aphrodisiaque : un heureux mélange! Le curcuma donne la belle couleur chaude et dorée pour le plaisir des yeux.

Un savon 100% naturel à l’huile d’olive

Format: 100g

 

Note du savonnier : Cette recette emblématique de la Savonnerie des Diligences porte l’estampe du savonnier, symbole de l’originalité sa création.

 

Ingrédients : Huiles (olive, coco biologique, cire d’abeille), eau, hydroxyde de sodium, huiles essentielles d’orange amère et de patchouli, curcuma. 

 

Fabriqué à la main au Québec

 

Le cocher. Suivez l'odeur de cette légende...

L’histoire se passe à Eastman, ou plutôt à Dingman’s Flat, le nom du village à la fin du 19e siècle, nommé ainsi en l’honneur d’une riche ferme équestre anglaise appartenant à John Dingman. Propriétaire de plusieurs chevaux pur sang de grande valeur, M. Dingman engagea Édouard Petitpas comme palefrenier. Petitpas besognait fort dès l’aube jusqu'au soir, puis dormait dans une modeste bicoque à proximité de l'écurie. Il aimait soigner ces bêtes fougueuses, ce qui ne l’empêchait pas de rêver de devenir cocher. Depuis sa plus tendre enfance, il se voyait élégamment vêtu, conduisant une diligence de huit chevaux, admiré de tous pour la mener diligemment sur le chemin des Diligences. 

Un jour de l'Action de grâces, M. Dingman, qui aimait épater la galerie, fit donner une réception pour sa famille et ses amis au Silver Valley Hotel, et pensa y inviter son fidèle employé Édouard. Ce dernier, bien qu’intimidé, accepta l’invitation avec plaisir. Un somptueux dîner attendait les convives, et Édouard en profita pour goûter à tout. Sa préférence alla pour des morceaux d’oranges odorantes et bien dodues. Comme sa condition modeste ne lui permettait pas de s’en offrir, il ne pensa pas mal faire d’en rapporter, prétextant que ces oranges l’avaient tout bonnement envoûté.

Sur le coup de minuit, alors qu'il avait un peu trop picolé, son rêve de devenir cocher refit surface plus que jamais. “Advienne que pourra, c’est l’occasion d’atteler les deux plus beaux étalons de la ferme à la carriole du propriétaire !” Tout juste comme il sortait de l'allée principale de la ferme, les deux chevaux s'emballèrent, Édouard perdit l'équilibre et alla se frapper la tête contre un tronc de pin blanc centenaire. Il se réveilla à l’infirmerie et fut sévèrement grondé par Dingman ... pour avoir dérobé des oranges ! 

L’incident permit à Édouard de faire comprendre à son patron qu’il avait des ambitions justifiées pour un si consciencieux palefrenier. Quelques années plus tard, Édouard devint cocher du village et put s’offrir autant d’oranges qu’il le désirait! 

Vous ne trouverez pas à Eastman la Ferme des Dingman, cependant une visite de l’Écurie des Diligences, juste en face de la Savonnerie, vous rappellera l’histoire du Cocher!

Auteure: Carol Laperrière
Réviseure: Venise Landry
Traducteur: Christopher Carrie
Français